~I Am Nujood, Age 10 and Divorced~

5 Mar

Today, I sat down at a coffee shop and read the book “I Am Nujood, Age 10 and Divorced” in 2 hours.  My eyes stayed glued as I attentively flipped through each chapter of the 200 page book.  As the cafe closed, I shut the book, and my heart was open with warmth and inspiration.  This book not only took my breath away but it opened my eyes. It broke my heart but put it back together again with regenerated faith in the overwhelming power of the human spirit.  Nujood’s spirit is a symbol of good faith, strength, and perseverance.  Quite simply astounding,  this young girl  was thrown into a pit of challenges,and had risen against all odds.  I felt as though I could relate to her emotionally, although her challenges were beyond anything I have experienced.

This book reassured the meaning of faith and strength.  It exemplified the beautiful journey of life; the many challenges that burden humanity, but the love supporting us through the grim horrors.  This young girl faced domestic abuse by her husband and family.  Alone, she journeyed through the grim for signals of hope; each loved one encouraged her with blessings.  She continued her lonely journey, following subtle signs that lead her to the court as she confidently fought  for justice.  As a result, her young voice had echoed across the globe.

“At the age of 9, with the help of lawyer Shada Nasser, she became the youngest child bride to be granted a legal divorce.”- Glamour

Read More http://www.glamour.com/sex-love-life/blogs/smitten/2010/03/nujood-ali-cant-miss-inspirati.html#ixzz1FhY4hCyu

Leave a Reply

