What are the qualifications for a degree in Simpleton or H.M. (High Maintenance)?

12 Nov

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’ve always pride myself on being a simpleton.   Others could claim the same thing.

On the flip-side, I’ve met people who have admitted living a high-maintenance lifestyle, yet they can get ready in 5 minutes.  I’ve met people who have claimed that they are a simpleton- wearing the same clothes every other day-  yet they decorate their words with lavish language while excusing themselves for a glass of wine.  Have the terms “simpleton” and “high maintenance” become word-usage for the lazy?  Words such as “terrorism”, “beautiful”, “simple”, “high maintenance” can all have counter meanings depending on one’s perspectual reality.

Definition of being simple:  Freedom from excessive attachment to material.

Definition of high maintenance:  Expensive and high level of attention to self and material.

Here I stand, a woman who is proud to have:

  • refused to update my “mobile” phone, because I feel no need to include additional applications  into a device that’s only use is to verbally contact (or quickly text).
  • recently,  forced myself to buy blouse’s for three different interviews … I ended up spending 30 dollars at Ann Taylor… But before shopping for those interviews, I don’t remember the last time I shopped for clothes.
  • will prefer to cook dinner instead of eating out.
  • I currently sleep on the couch at my apartment, and use a quarter of the closet space for my clothes. The way I see it, the less I store and own, the easier it is to move (literally and figuratively).
  • I’ve never got my nails done.
  • For the first time, I colored my hair at age 28.

On the flip side:

  • What use to take me 10 minutes in the shower… Now takes me.. Well, I don’t know exactly how long… But it now takes about 30 minutes to get ready.
  • I:
  • love wearing eye-liner (kajal), powder, and perfume.
  • am not an avid buyer… BUT, I love a good sense in fashion and art.
  • am addicted to Ice Coffee.
  • clean whenever I can.
  • need my alone time to exercise.
  • love my Mac laptop.
  • I need my daily dose of BBC News, and  I still find myself addicted to watching old episodes of “Sex and the City” and will occasionally watch “Keeping Up With the Kardashians”.. I claim it’s for purpose of humor, but who knows.
  • am frequently blogging or facebooking.

So as I look back at this list… I wonder to myself… Am I as simple as I claim to be? My opinion,  I think all to often “we all” claim to be something… But if we read into all of our actions, most likely “we” will discover  that “we” are….to some degree….walking contradictions.

2 Responses to “What are the qualifications for a degree in Simpleton or H.M. (High Maintenance)?”

  1. Franklin Rivera November 14, 2010 at 8:15 am #

    Wow1 I have been reading your posts and I must say that you are very talented at writing. Additionally, you always give myself something to think about. It is nice to see someone using Facebook and their blog for purposes other than just talking about when is the last time they did their nails or had a cup of coffee.
    However, in response to your latest blog about many of us being walking contradictions, you are right. But really, who cares about what someone claims to be as long as they are being true to themselves. I think many of us claim to be something because we are not comfortable with who we are. Many time when we meet someone, we are not meeting them, but their representative. I find that as long as we are living an not merely existing, what we claim to be has no real relevance.
    Thank you for such thought provoking posts!

    • amnabuku2 November 14, 2010 at 10:28 pm #

      “But really, who cares about what someone claims to be as long as they are being true to themselves.”

      That is so true, Franklin! One of “our” greatest struggles is being “true” to oneself. With all the pressure from society, family, and traditions, it is often difficult to distinguish what “our” truth is… Everyone needs some sort of an awakening where they can truly realize what speaks to their heart…
      Although many people put a “face” on when meeting and greeting; a lot of truth can been seen within the eyes.. Unfortunately, there are a lot of lost souls out there; but we all have the potential to awaken the beauty within… Just takes a bit of soul-searching.
      C’est la vie! 😀

Leave a Reply

